Jason Roy parts ways with Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants release Jason Holder

The defending Indian Premier League (IPL) champions have managed to retain most of the players that helped it clinch the title in their maiden season. However, it has let go of some star players like England opener Jason Roy, New Zealand speedster Lockie Ferguson and young Afghanistan batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Jason suffered a form slump during the ‘Hundred’ tournament. He was ignored by England for the ICC T20 World Cup, with the likes of Alex Hales and Phil Salt replacing him. In 11 T20I matches for England this year, he has scored only 206 runs at an average of 18.72, at a strike rate of 104.04. Only one half-century has come out of his bat in these matches.

And the ______ keep marching on_ __#RetentionAnnouncement #AavaDe pic.twitter.com/FiRvi00aHO
— Gujarat Titans (@gujarat_titans) November 15, 2022

Also Read: IPL 2023 Retention LIVE UPDATES: Full list of retained and released players by CSK and MI out – Check

In the last season, Roy was picked up for Rs 2 crore, which was his base price, by GT. But he later opted out of the tournament. Dominic Drakes, Gurkeerat Singh and Indian pace veteran Varun Aaron are some other players released by GT. They had also traded Gurbaz to KKR earlier.

Titans has managed to retain its core players like skipper Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, David Miller, Matthew Wade, Mohammad Shami and Rashid Khan. Exciting young talent like Sai Kishore, Sai Sudarshan, Abhinav Manohar and Yash Dayal is retained by GT, showing how much they have invested in their future.

The side has INR 19.25 crore in their purse. It also has three overseas slots to fill. “And the Titans keep marching on… #RetentionAnnouncement #AavaDe,” tweeted GT while announcing the retained players.

Gujarat Titans

Players released: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Lockie Ferguson, Dominic Drakes, Gurkeerat Singh, Jason Roy, Varun Aaron

Current squad: Hardik Pandya (capt), Shubman Gill, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Pradeep Sangwan, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav, R Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad.

IPL 2023 Retention: All you need to know about Lucknow Super Giants

LSG’s Players released: Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Dushmantha Chameera, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Manish Pandey, Shahbaz Nadeem

Current squad: KL Rahul (capt), Ayush Badoni, Karan Sharma, Manan Vohra, Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Kyle Mayers, Krunal Pandya, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi

Purse remaining: INR 23.35 crore

Overseas slots remaining: 4 

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Aakash Chopra’s Big Statement About “Kul-Cha” Playing Together In T20 WC

Aakash Chopra has said that he does not think Kuldeep, Chahal will…

IPL 2022: ‘Nothing happens in CSK without MS Dhoni’s approval’, here’s why Ravindra Jadeja quit captaincy

Chennai Super Kings Jadeja fared poorly in his short stay as CSK…

Carlos Alcaraz Downs Novak Djokovic In Thriller To Reach Madrid Final

Carlos Alcaraz defeated Novak Djokovic on Saturday.© AFP Carlos Alcaraz became the…

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders: IPL 2022 Live Cricket Score, Live Score Of Today’s Match on NDTV Sports

A dedicated team of experts bring you live score, live cricket score,…